Citigroup; for the record my personal brand is culture independent!

To: Citigroup LIC

From:  Charles A. Lobosco

RE:  Culture fit;  my personal brand is Culture independent!

My name is Charles Lobosco;  there I am today at (62)Charlie_7680

 

I’m a Shared Leadership expert with a Presidents service award, as a result.

pin-new-cropped     Pin_blue

I’ve published a book, written a Seminar and speak professionally whenever possible on the subject of Shared Leadership.

CareC+C

 

I’m also an Agile Consultant, Coach and Trainer with multiple (actually 6) Agile Certifications.  I’m an independent authorized training partner (A.T.P.) with VMedu; an international IT/training company.  Through my partnership w/VMedu, I now provide on line real time live interactive video classroom training internationally to Certify Scrum Masters, Product Owners and Agile Developers.  My training  incorporates my Shared Leadership model.

I started in the Corporate/IT business in 1973 and I’ve been in the trenches at over 25 fortune ranked corporations.  I’ve learned a lot over the years and as a result I’m good at what I do.  I teach  (or preach) Shared Leadership in the workplace.  Shared Leadership is a faster smarter more efficient way to deliver scalable results with less risk that hold up over time while being delivered NOT at the expense of others.

Practicing Agile methodologies promotes Shared Leadership; the two models go together.

Citigroup is in need of an Agile coach.  How do I know that?  Well everyone does!  One-night walking down a dark alley during a terrible snow storm, there was someone huddled up in a doorway trying not to freeze to death.  I asked; “are you OK?”  he responded; “not sure but did you hear Citigroup is in need of an Agile coach?” – Everyone does.

Sixteen (yes 16) of my forty-three year (and counting) professional career was spent at Citigroup.  I have an attachment, I’m always looking for ways to help; I CARE.

Agile coaching is my sweet spot; so I checked in to see if I could be of service.

As an Agile coach, I expect to increase delivery efficiencies and FTE morale while in parallel decrease un-necessary work and overall cost of doing business.

After a brief fifteen-minute conversation before we even got into anything Agile or Agile coaching, I was told I was not a good “culture fit” and this was not going to work.

Not a good culture fit for this new Agile effort at Citi/LIC?  ME? Tell me anything but that!imageshuh.jpg

OK so we need to discuss  this.  This might sting a little, maybe leave a mark but this is something we must discuss; jeez!

I was a good culture fit in 1980 – 1981 when I was a Citi consultant working on implementing the new GARN bill; business and professional checking.  I sucked it up when the actual culture over at 750 8th ave. (if I remember correctly) which was toxic didn’t fit MY culture model at that time.

co-workers-294266_640

I was a good culture fit in 2001 – 2003 when (again) I was a Citi consultant, this time participating in multiple very painful and time consuming acquisitions.  I  (again) sucked it up when the actual culture in LIC at the time was toxic and didn’t fit MY culture model. We had a phrase we used to say all too often after working through the night; “another sunrise in LIC”.

Sunrise3_citi

Having lived through 911 as a Citi/consultant in LIC, I found myself somewhat attached to this company almost like family.  In 2003, Citi culture became my culture and by choice I became a Citi employee.

I guess I was a good culture fit in 2004 when I was awarded a “Citistar” award given to the top 5% (or maybe it was the top 1%; I don’t remember) producers.

I guess I was a good culture fit in 2006 when I was asked by my Citi seniors to relocate from LIC to Blue Ash Ohio.  I sucked it up when this new Blue Ash culture did not fit MY culture model.  This was a new culture; Silicone mid-west as coined by the visionary that came up with the idea of the move as a way to cut hundreds of IT/professionals and replace w/offshore resources.  This visionary turned the company upside down to the point he too fell out the bottom.  Hundreds of million dollars later, the site closed.

I guess I was a good culture fit because I received year end incentive bonuses in every one of my ten years as a Citi/FTE.  These year-end incentive bonuses rewarded to me were the highest after relocating; going from 40K upwards to over 60K.  I must’ve been a good culture fit to be rewarded like that! 

images1

I guess I was a good culture fit when my seniors recognized me for developing my award winning Shared Leadership model, for pioneering Agile within my offshore consulting team and developing a most efficient IT/offshore resource support model.  I sucked it up when the actual culture at this new site (anything but a Shared Leadership mode) l didn’t fit MY culture model.

OK, OK I think that’s enough of that.

If you read between the lines, Citi culture is always evolving.  My culture is always adapting. This is a skill I learned at Citi; develop a personal brand that can adapt to an evolving culture! 

My personal brand is culture independent.  I can work anywhere.  Yes; even Citi.

To be told after fifteen minutes I’m not a good culture fit at Citi/LIC is an embarrassingly incompetent example of poor judgement.  I would accept; I don’t have the technical skills to keep up or my coaching isn’t strong enough or my style might be too aggressive or to too weak etc.. I would accept anything except this ridicules culture fit thing.

Honestly I know I’m not the smartest or the fastest but I know based on results that’s I’m often times the difference between efficient delivery and failure.

I recently met up with a former Citi co-worker still working at Citi.   He said; “dude I work from home most of the time and they don’t even know I exist.  I actually help my father with his business!”

Hmmmm; I’m 62 years old and he called me dude.

dude_citi

Anyway if that’s the culture Citi is looking for these days well, I’d have to suck it up once again since that doesn’t fit MY culture model.

So Citi; I’m here to help if you need it.  As an Agile coach, I expect to increase delivery efficiencies and FTE morale while in parallel decrease un-necessary work and overall cost of doing business.

Oh and one more thing; adapt to whatever culture it is you’re practicing these days.

Charles A. Lobosco; Shared Leadership Expert, Agile Coach and trainer

charliespeaking.com

IMAG0216

 

About clobosco4468

Charlie Lobosco is a Corporate Technology Executive, Shared Leadership Expert, Agile Coach and trainer with lessons learned in over (20) Fortune ranked Corporations since 1973! Charlie is Co-Founder (with Eva Lewandowski) of the VisionOp Group LLC a consulting, coaching and training company. For more got to Visionop.com and/or charlieandeva.com
This entry was posted in agile, Agile certification training, Agile Coach, Career certifications, career training, careers matter, Change agent, changing workforce, Citigroup, Citigroup/LIC, Corporate change, Corporate culture, corporate ego, courage, economy, IT/Offshore, Job security, leadership, lessons learned, Make believe Corporate Nonsense, partnership, people matter, Self improvement, shared leadership, small businesses, teamwork, too big to fail, Workplace culture, workplace improvements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

