Courage; learned the hard way

I’m channeling my wild card virtual mentor John Paul Jones when I say. “I have not yet begun to fight!” John_Paul_Jones_by_Charles_Wilson_Peale,_c1781Fighting cancer takes courage. Losing an organ as a result takes courage. Awaiting the results of the latest CT scan takes courage. Putting on a brave face in front of loved ones takes courage and not freaking out over every new symptom takes courage. At 60 years old and thanks to cancer, I finally learned about courage. That’s the one thing I got as a result of cancer that I’m truly grateful for; courage. Now that I know what courage really is, I’m shocked at the number of courage touting imposters.
It doesn’t take courage to be a tough guy, a dick-tator, an aggressive know it all, a condescending co worker or people manager. Actually it takes courage from others to actually work alongside these people.
It doesn’t take courage to NOT work and post all day long on social media what a wonderful person you are. It takes courage from people that care about you to inspire you to get out there and be financially accountable like the rest of us and WORK.
It doesn’t take courage to cut and paste quotes on leadership. It takes courage to practice what you preach.
It doesn’t take courage to say there’s nothing you can do to change anything anymore. It takes courage to be that change.
It certainly doesn’t take courage for me to say any of this. It takes courage for me to live it. This I’m working on and doing much better now that I know more about what courage really is.
For the record; I’m dong fine. Today November 18th I ran 3 miles and added the finishing touches on my new product; Non essential IT/Offshore development resource pruning, who’s time has come for sure. I now have the courage to bring this plan (one that I’ve developed, executed, proved and one that I’m proud of) to market and make happen; to start the reversal of offshore development and the re-investment of local talent. This is a legacy I’m proud to leave.
I guess I need to thank cancer for giving me this courage to make a difference in the workplace even as 1 person which has been something I’ve been preaching about but not acting upon; until now!
It doesn’t take courage for anyone to say this is impossible. It takes courage to join me and be part of the workplace improvement revolution. – this is charliespeaking. cl16843_AC01_R0A-shrunk-1

About clobosco4468

Charlie Lobosco is a Corporate Technology Executive, Shared Leadership Expert, Agile Coach and trainer with lessons learned in over (20) Fortune ranked Corporations since 1973! Charlie is Co-Founder (with Eva Lewandowski) of the VisionOp Group LLC a consulting, coaching and training company. For more got to Visionop.com and/or charlieandeva.com
This entry was posted in career training, changing workforce, courage, economy, Self improvement, small businesses and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

