January post follow up; So what did my company say?

As a refresh, I suggest you read my original January post titled, “Why are the 99% protesting”.  At the end of that post I mention how easy it is (for the 1%) to talk the talk but not that easy to walk the walk and maybe even assume some accountability.  I also mention that I scheduled a meeting with my company to specifically discuss the practice of hiring offshore contractors to work on site (here in the U.S.), sucking up the available (local) contract work and leaving many local contractors out of work,  some of whom are courageously protesting.  This is my attempt (as the so called 1%) at practicing what I preach, listening to the protesters, (observing on my own), taking some necessary action and fulfilling my responsibility as a C.A.R.E. certified teamate.  

So what did my company say?

I have to say I’m relieved with the response.  My company said they totally agree with me; there is absolutely no reason why I (or anyone in the company hiring contractors) should not consider local candidates provided the job description is specifically an on site function AND the rate falls within the budget boundaries.

I guess this means there is no covert conspiracy by my company to eliminate all domestic contractors and replace them with offshore contractors working on site (in the U.S.).  There never was.  My company utilizes offshore vendors just like they utilize domestic vendors.  It’s on us, the hiring manager to make the selection.

Basically my company gives me the option.  They may make it easier to select an offshore vendor, they may make it cumbersome and time-consuming (administratively) to select a local contractor from a domestic vender, you may have to defend the logic and maybe even prove beyond a shadow of a doubt, but they still provide the option to choose.  It’s not a perfect world and as a result,  I STILL MUST GO THE EXTRA YARD (often time mile) TO MAKE THIS HAPPEN (UGH!).

The offshore vendor banks on the theory the hiring manager will not bother to go the extra yard which (of course) results in more offshore contractors working on site (here in the U.S.) and more local unemployment all because the hiring manager blames the company for making it too difficult and doesn’t bother to go the extra mile.  

One could even say the hiring manager probably has no clue that their failure to question the hiring policies or failure to go the extra mile to hire domestic instead of offshore are some of the reasons behind what the 99%’ers are protesting.

The issue really becomes whether or not I have the courage to see this through, to bring in a local out of work contractor when an oportunity comes up and not go offshore to get someone even though that’s the easy way out (at least in my company).

Well; there is a reason my book is titled; “C.AR.E.- Courage to Take Action Relevant to Everyone; building a better workplace starts with you!

The reason is WE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE EVEN AS ONE PERSON!

Below are three questions from my book which need to be answered through action in order to become C.A.R.E. certified:

  1.  Did you make something better today at work?  At the work level?  The team level?  Any Level?

 2.  Who’s back are you watching besides your own?

 3.  Do you have the courage to take action relevant to everyone?

In this one case study of offshore contractors working on site (here in the U.S.),  I can proudly say that my action taken absolutely represents someone who went the extra mile, someone not just talking the talk, someone who is C.A.R.E. certified.  At the end of the day there is someone (local) no longer out of work as a result of my actions for the sole reason I had the courage to go the extra mile to see this through, basically for the sole reason that I’m C.A.R.E. certified.

Imagine (please) if EVERYONE in the workplace was C.A.R.E. certified?

Note: as of this writing, I have another offshore resource working on site (here in the U.S.) returning to India due to visa expiration.  In the past there would just be someone sent in to replace; (known as offshore rotation).  Not anymore.

This person (a good guy) has returned and I’m interviewing locally for his replacement. 

That makes 2 local contractors no longer out of work!

Are you with me?

It starts with I, then becomes we then we’re a team and then the bar will be raised.

Become C.A.R.E. certified today!!!

for more info; www.charliespeaking.com

About clobosco4468

Charlie Lobosco is a Corporate Technology Executive, Shared Leadership Expert, Agile Coach and trainer with lessons learned in over (20) Fortune ranked Corporations since 1973! Charlie is Co-Founder (with Eva Lewandowski) of the VisionOp Group LLC a consulting, coaching and training company. For more go to charlieandeva.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

