July Post; Getting punched in the face!

Corporate is all about planning; fail to plan, plan to fail, develop a plan and track to the plan.  Well, Mike Tyson once said “everyone has a plan until they get punched in the face real hard”. In our world, in the work place, getting punched in the face occurs in many forms: a re-org, project bullying, office politics even gossip at the water cooler. In my career, I was never punched in the face real hard. I needed to find out why. I may have punched myself in the face or shot myself in the foot but during my career I never took one on the chin from someone else. One reason (I believe now) is not having any formal education past HS. I was never “schooled” enough to think I know best, that I can proceed by measuring everyone else. I didn’t go thru my career thinking that to be a leader I needed to be cool; be aggressive, take what I need, let nothing stand in my way and make sure I blame others. All the attributes that I’ve developed were around soft skills; communication, teamwork, tolerance, etc. In 2006 there were a lot of punches being thrown at my company. Many of my co-workers took a direct hit in the face and went down for the count. The results were staggering; in fighting, HR complaints, jobs were lost, way too much anger; nobody benefited; not the company the individual impacted or their families. When the punches stopped, many looked at me; why was I not hit, why am I still standing? What am I doing that prevented this that nobody else is doing? I was equally puzzled and needed to answer these questions for myself. I went back to the beginning, back to 1973 when I started my corporate career and re-assessed. I really did accomplish a lot and for that I’m grateful, but how? What I realized is that I learned to lead by default with soft skills; communication, teamwork, likeability and I learned (also by default) to achieve NOT at the expense of others. This is summed up in the title of my book; C.A.R.E. – Courage to take action relevant to everyone. This is what we need mentoring on, but we have so few soft skilled mentors. I’ve had many mentors in my career that I basically ignored. Now looking back, they’re all gone too. Maybe I should’ve been mentoring them. My behavior, my likeability, my having the courage to take action relevant to everyone provides more value to a company than most can even imagine. During my career re-assessment I realized that we need mentors to grow and learn but only ones that have the courage to take action relevant to everyone. I needed to go back to 1775 to find my mentors and when I found these guys; I built an entire training program and seminar around them. C.A.R.E. is the COURAGE to take ACTION RELEVANT to EVERYONE.

Let me know your thoughts and concerns; I can help!

For more information contact charlie@charliespeaking.com or visit www.charliespeaking.com

About clobosco4468

Charlie Lobosco is a Corporate Technology Executive, Shared Leadership Expert, Agile Coach and trainer with lessons learned in over (20) Fortune ranked Corporations since 1973! Charlie is Co-Founder (with Eva Lewandowski) of the VisionOp Group LLC a consulting, coaching and training company. For more got to Visionop.com and/or charlieandeva.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

